Day 1: Assessing the problem, laying a plan

Messy desk New Year's Day 2009

Messy desk New Year's Day 2009

I don’t know about you, but I spend more time at the computer than cleaning house and doing laundry. A year ago, our dream apartment opened unexpectedly. We signed the lease and moved with haste, no time off from our workaholic jobs. It’s been a busy year, with the birth of two grandchildren, major job changes for both of us, and plenty of other life events encroaching on our “free” time. Then there’s this whole computer thing. I’d rather create and edit than pee. My bladder’s a wreck. But that’s off the point.

Living Room1 New Year's Day 2009

Living Room1 New Year's Day 2009

Our closets are filled with unpacked boxes. Our TV sits on top of more boxes in the unshelved, open murphy-bed space in our living room.

Study--computer cables New Year's Day 2009

Study--computer cables New Year's Day 2009

We warn guests to take care not to trip over computer cables crossing the doorway.

Over the last year I’ve collected grocery sacks and boxes full of unopened mail, unanswered letters, and important stuff that has to be taken care of right away. (Mmm, right.) I’m the messy one, btw. Dear Partner is much tidier than little ole moi.

It’s a constant battle, but I’m determined to be living in a tidy house 366 days from now (One extra for Leap Year!). So here’s the plan.

Fifteen minutes a day, five days a week, seven if I feel like it, I’ll tackle clutter. To keep me motivated, I’ll log into this blog and record my progress. I’m hoping I’ll find some folks out there to cheer me on, so I’ll be Twittering and maybe I’ll even build a Squidoo lens or two about it. What do you think?


3 thoughts on “Day 1: Assessing the problem, laying a plan

    • Yes. That’s what happens when one’s mind is as cluttered as one’s work space. Thanks for taking the time to point out my error!

      Like

  1. Pingback: It’s never too late to clear our clutter | Clutterzapper

Leave a Reply

