Day 2: Fifteen minutes taming the chaos monster

Desk New Year's Day 2009

Desk New Year's Day 2009

Tickling the sleeping chaos monster is more like it, but hey, look at the progress I made. From this, on the right, taken yesterday, to this (left) taken after my first fifteen minute session today. I’m breathing easier already.

Desk tidier after 15 minutes paring the clutter

Desk tidier after 15 minutes paring the clutter

I did have to add temporarily to our household clutter. See the pretty little Christmas tin in the before pic? (Yes, there’s an unmentionable or two on the printer. All my dirty laundry is likely to show up on this blog sometime or other. How dare I find the courage to continue?)

Storage box for Christmas tins and decorations

Storage box for Christmas tins and decorations

Several other tins and various holiday decorations slouch around the house, so I pulled a box from the clutter pile in the entry hall, labeled it on four sides, and left it on a dining room chair, ready to receive the other re-usable and collectible items for storage as we uncover them.

How I feel: Relieved. This was fun. I look forward to the next fifteen minute session.

Strategy: Handle each item once. Find it a permanent home. This takes longer than stuffing everything into a box to sort later, but I don’t have to mess again with the objects I handled today, and when I need them, I know where to find them.

Next: Sort and respond to the remaining papers in the pile.


Leave a Reply

