The plumber visits

6 Empty bottles, rinsed and ready to recycle

Empty bottles, rinsed and ready to recycle

Last week, the plumber came to repair the leaky kitchen sink and faucets. I had to make room for him to work, so grabbed everything off the shelves under the sink and wiped them down.

Luckily, we’ve kept this area free of new clutter since my last run through–except for these six empty bottles.¬†They tend to pile up.

“I’ll rinse and recycle later,” one or the other of us says, squeezing the last drop of juice before tossing it under the sink.

You know how it goes. You’re rushing to finish the dishes before running out the door.

Long-standing experience tells me I won’t find any takers for these bottles on Freecycle, so I have to recycle them. It takes barely fifteen minutes to rinse them well and toss them in the recycle bin. I have enough time to carry the full sack downstairs for curbside collection.

I’d rather not bring these bottles into the house in the first place. Half are dish washing soap. One of my long-term clutter-clearing goals is to find a homemade dish soap recipe that works for both of us. So far, I’ve tested four or five. None met our needs, so we keep buying plastic bottles filled with dish soap.

I’ve not given up. If you have a homemade dish soap recipe you love, pass it along, will you? I invite you to post a link to it in the comments section below. Do tell what you like about it too.

Leave a Reply

