Adapt and adapt some more

Well, I surely am learning that keeping up with a blog and a toddler may be a bit challenging for an old granny like me, but I managed to clear some clutter five days last week.

What worked on those days: Tackling a mess near where she wanted to play, so I could take part in her games while sorting my stuff.

That’s what I mean by adapting. They weren’t messes high on my list, and I didn’t get any more photographs, so I couldn’t share them here, but now those bits of clutter are gone, I smile every time I walk into those rooms and past those corners, shelves and tables.

Gratitude. That’s what I feel. I’m grateful those messes are gone.

Better still, today I got back to the sideboard and finished that basket. What’s more, I finished the other end of the sideboard, too! Happy dance! Happy dance!

Here’s how the basket and that corner looked the day I started. Remember this?

The mess on my kitchen side board this morning

The mess on my kitchen side board this morning

Even though I sorted, put away, recycled and discarded quite a bit of the basket mess last week, when I set the 15-minute timer today I had plenty of bits left to disperse to their proper homes.

The basket bulges with all the junk still crammed inside

The basket bulges with all the junk still crammed inside

Ta da! Here’s the basket this evening, holding only the things I use nearly every day and need to keep on the counter top.

My useful basket! Now it holds only the CDs we play every day, the peel and stick labels I also use every day, and a jar of pens for marking the labels

My useful basket! Now it holds only the CDs we play every day, the peel and stick labels I also use every day, and a jar of pens for marking the labels

What am I keeping in the basket? Things I use every day, or nearly every day. They include

  • The CDs the grandchild and I listen and sometimes dance to nearly every day she is here
  • The remote control for the kitchen stereo
  • The peel-and-stick labels I keep in the kitchen to stick on perishables in the fridge and freezer so I don’t lose track of the contents and dates
  • The pens with which I mark the labels
  • A couple of note pads for quick notes

That’s it. That’s all I need in this basket.

By the time I had put everything away this afternoon, I still had six minutes left on my fifteen minute timer, so I tackled the other, much less messy corner of the sideboard.

The far left corner before I cleared it today

The far left corner before I cleared it today

Well, that was easy! All that junk you see is CDs. The ones we play often, well, I tucked those right into the basket.

The ones you see in the clear, plastic sleeves are children’s music, but it’s all quite poorly done. The little one doesn’t like this music. Neither do I. So the CDs went into the re-format pile and the empty sleeves back in the office supplies for re-use.

Now take a look at this corner.

The tidy far left corner of the sideboard tonight

The tidy far left corner of the sideboard tonight

Doesn’t that just make you take a nice, deep, cleansing breath? Sure, I wish we didn’t have that cord going through the wall, but there’s nothing I can do about that. It’s the landlord’s solution to giving us an “outlet” on this side of the kitchen.

What can I say? This building is over a hundred years old. We love our apartment, despite its foibles.

Tomorrow and the rest of the week, my granddaughter is back for ten or eleven hours each day. Thankfully, I have help the rest of the week, so with a little luck and care, I’ll get to take photographs and report on my clutter clearing progress here.

How are you doing with your projects?

How’s your clutter going? Staying? Or still going, a bit at a time? Got any tips to share as we approach the middle of the month?

It’s that time when it’s easy to get a little discouraged about all those resolutions we made at the first of the month. We can all use a little pick-me-up.

My best tip right now: Persevere. No matter what stopped you yesterday or today, pick up and get going.

What’s your best tip?

Leave a Reply

