Energy, drive and push

This is my favorite Monday of the year. For some, January 1 is that day full of beginnings, promise and hope, but this last Monday of the month is the first day of the year when what’s in front of me is mostly my agenda for my own purposes.

We’ve just come off a long and wonderful season of family celebrations that begin in October each year, carry through the holidays and right up to now.

This Monday is my own. Today is the day I wake up refreshed, rejuvenated and full of visions, hopes and dreams for all I expect to accomplish this year. I’m energized, driven and ready for a big push.

Big on my list: Clearing the last of the worst clutter messes and keeping them clear. Remember my desk earlier this month?

Sadly, I've let piles of paper, holiday greeting cards, receipts and various bits of junk clutter my desk worse than ever

Sadly, I’ve let piles of paper, holiday greeting cards, receipts and various bits of junk clutter my desk worse than ever

It still looks much the same. I got rid of a few things, then added more, but I refused–steadfastly refused–to tackle this mess head on until now, when I could give it my full attention. Here’s my desk today, before I set the 15-minute timer.

My desk today, before its first 15-minute clutter-clearing session

My desk today, before its first 15-minute clutter-clearing session

That’s right. My desk looked like this all the while our out-of-town guests were here last week. This pile of junk sat here during the big party–and during the Christmas party a month ago. Color me embarrassed! But hey, those 2-year-old drawings give me such pleasure each time I sit down.

My glasses will always lie there, of course, and their case, because I change back and forth between my computer spectacles and my progressives many times a day. But everything else? Watch it go.

 

15 minutes later, I've written two thank you notes and filed or recycled a load of paper

15 minutes later, I’ve written two thank you notes and filed or recycled a load of paper

After fifteen minutes, I can see my laptop again! It’s a clutter problem of its own, because it is no longer fully functional as a laptop and needs a repair. That will come.

Meanwhile, I’ve recycled several papers, filed a few more, and written two heart-felt thank you notes.

One of the thank you note cards, ready to stuff, stamp and mail

One of the thank you note cards, ready to stuff, stamp and mail

I’ve a ways to go with this mess, but what a change. I’m encouraged.

Where do you stand with your clutter projects today?

How are you doing with your 2015 clutter-clearing goals? Are you forging ahead, one piece, one mess at a time? Do you feel stuck? Stalled? Or on track?

Share your thoughts. I’m here with words of encouragement, if you need them. After all, if you’re reading this, we’re in it together.

 

Leave a Reply

