Still working it, 15 minutes a day, 5 days a week

Well, that was a fun two weeks. First we anticipated and cleaned for, then later enjoyed out-of-town company for a big family celebration–at our house.

We had a blast.

Right in the thick of it, the two-year-old granddaughter I care for three days a week came down with a nasty bug. I had no idea these newfangled digital ear thermometers were so expensive! More than $70, with the tax.

Thankfully, I have a good home for the new digital thermometer

Thankfully, I have a good home for the new digital thermometer

But wow. It takes her temperature in a second, without fuss. When I think of the discomfort my children experienced with the 5-minute thermometers of old, I’m glad we could afford to buy this one.

Even more glad: Thanks to several clutter clearing sessions three or four years ago, our bathroom cupboard is relatively well-organized, and I have a place for this new appliance.

Isn’t that amazing! Once a cleared area works well for everyone, we keep it fairly tidy. Not perfect. But tidy.

Now, I can tuck this device safely away when we don’t need it, and find it in an instant when we do–a big benefit to clearing clutter and keeping it cleared.

But what about 15-minutes-a-day?

Timer set for 15 minutes

Timer set for 15 minutes

While we prepared for, enjoyed and rested up after our big bash and all that company, I did manage to clean a few piles of clutter here and there. Not a lot, but some.

The good news: On days the toddler was sick, I didn’t lose out altogether.

While she napped, I cleared cyber clutter, which I can do without waking her–as long as I don’t set that noisy timer!

Some of that clutter? Two web sites I started in the early aughts (2000-2005). Oh, yes, it’s hard to let those babies go. I spent hundreds of hours on them in the early years, designing, learning to code, updating, refining, writing new copy, developing new logos and uploading beautiful photographs.

In the last five years, I’ve worked on those sites less and less. In fact, I forgot all about one of them until the domain renewal notice came up the other day.

My darlings these web sites may have been, in the early 2000s, but I haven’t the energy, expertise or enthusiasm to manage them any longer. I’ve way too many projects going now. Time to cut loose the ones that are going nowhere.

So they’re toast. Gone. Pfhhhhttt. It’s hard to let my creations go, but thanks to computers, all is not lost. I saved all the copy I wrote for the sites. It’s work product! Over time, I’m sure I will find ways to re-purpose that copy for other venues.

Nothing evergreen has to go, just the outdated, outmoded junk.

That’s the first part of today’s story. I’ve got more, coming up, in a separate post.

2 thoughts on “Still working it, 15 minutes a day, 5 days a week

    • Possibly, Virginia. I thought about keeping the URLs in case someone might want them some day, but that kept them as clutter in the back of my mind, so I decided to let them go back to the ether.

      Thanks for stopping by and for the follow!

      Like

Leave a Reply

