Electronic clutter breeds like hangars in a closet, doesn’t it?

Yesterday I finished clearing the first of three drawers in the sideboard behind our desk. Today, I hit the second.

The second sideboard drawer, stuffed with rechargeable batteries, one-use cameras, and other breeding electronics

The second sideboard drawer, stuffed with rechargeable batteries, one-use cameras, and other breeding electronics

Electronic bits and pieces clog the drawer, along with rechargeable batteries and their chargers and half a dozen one-use cameras. Why in heavens name do we have those?

There’s an old phone and the Tom-Tom navigator we no longer needed once we bought smart phones. Goodness! What a mess. No wonder we forget what’s here. Just opening the drawer wears me out.

I’m so glad I emptied that first drawer last week, because we’ve needed a handy place to store the batteries and chargers for a long, long time. Right off the bat, though, I can see I need a more efficient way to store the rechargeables.

Rechargeable batteries and their chargers, transferred to the now-clean first drawer

Rechargeable batteries and their chargers, transferred to the now-clean first drawer

Oh, yeah, that reminds me of the compact battery storage container on the back porch, which houses our non-rechargeable collection. Will it fit?

The battery storage case fits in the drawer! Woohoo!

The battery storage case fits in the drawer! Woohoo!

Yippee! It fits. All the batteries in one place now. Tomorrow, when I’m out and about, I’ll pick up a second container for the rest of this lot. If there’s time, I’ll drop those one-use cameras off and find out whether the photos are any good and where and when we took them.

I have a sneaking suspicion they’re the cameras we bought after our last move, to prove that we left our apartment spic-and-span, in case the landlord challenged our request for our deposit return. If so, they’re more than a decade old. Talk about hanging on to junk.

Whoopee! We can find batteries when we need them, and the second drawer is on its way to becoming useful.

Still have to figure out what to do with these things, one at a time, girl, one at a time

Still have to figure out what to do with these things, one at a time, girl, one at a time

Color me happy.

4 thoughts on “Electronic clutter breeds like hangars in a closet, doesn’t it?

    • I know what you mean, Marsha. I suspect that when I get into the cupboards below the drawers, I will find computer manuals for PCs and laptops we haven’t owned in years, not to mention the accompanying software.

      Like

Leave a Reply

